Riverside Academy Primary School

Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years Foundation Stage

Riverside Banner

Curriculum Overview, Spring Term (Dinosaurs)

New Parents Booklet 2018/19
The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old.

All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

Areas of Learning

Your child will mostly be taught through games and play.

The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design


Your child’s progress will already have been reviewed when they were between 2 and 3 by an early years practitioner or health visitor.

Their class teacher will assess them at the end of the school year when they turn 5; the assessment is based on classroom observation – your child won’t be tested. It uses the early learning goals, which can be found in the early years framework.

‘What to Expect When’ – a Parents’ Guide

To help review your children’s progress, the Department for Education has published a guide for parents on child development during the first 5 years. Parents are able to check their children’s physical, social and language development against these milestones and learn how best to support them in their development. The ‘What to Expect When’ handbook is available through this link.

Foundation stage whole year plan


Fundamental British Values in the Early Years

10 Things to do Before You’re 6

Things to do before you are 6 picture

10 Things to do Before You’re 6


Parents, carers and families are welcome to request any information about our school as a paper copy. Please contact us and we will be happy to help you.

Riverside Community Primary School
Wanlip Lane

Executive Headteacher: Chelsea Norman
Chair of Governors: Chris Swan